Caritas Chamber Choir International Young Composer Competition

caritas

I was completely thrilled to be chosen the winner of Caritas Chamber Choir’s International Young Composer Competition on 8th July! It was a wonderful day; David Conte led a fascinating workshop in the morning, and then I sat in on the rehearsal of all six shortlisted pieces in the afternoon, before the concert in the evening with the judging at the end. I really loved being able to meet three of the other composers who had been able to come. What was most interesting was how all six of us had responded so differently to the brief to write a piece about a character or story from The Canterbury Tales. The six pieces were so different but all imaginative and exciting, so I was very honoured (and surprised!) to be given first prize.

It was brilliant to get to know Caritas Chamber Choir, who as well as being completely lovely people were absolutely fabulous singers. Having my piece performed so well was very exciting, and I am over the moon to have been commissioned to write another piece for them – an Ave Maria.

Here is the recording of the performance in the final of my piece, The Pardoner’s Song.

 

Fitzwilliam College Chapel Choir on tour to Truro Cathedral

Straight from the Caritas final on the 8th, on the 9th I headed off (just a little sleep-deprived) to Truro in Cornwall with Fitz choir for a brilliant week of singing and silliness. During the week we sang my Preces and Responses twice, and also premièred the SATB version of my Magnificat and Nunc Dimittis – thank you so much to Richard Bateman for conducting and Amalie Fisher for her beautiful organ playing. Fitz chapel does have a lovely acoustic, but hearing my music ringing round an enormous cathedral was something really special. It was also just a fabulous holiday with my very favourite group of people in the entire universe!

fitz

 

Maths and Music for Colchester New Music

I’m currently working on a piece for a Colchester New Music project about Maths and Music; my piece A Ternary of Littles sets a poem by Herrick instrumentally, by splitting it up into different vowel sounds, each of which is represented by one of three pitches. (It’s a very simple process but somehow hard to describe without diagrams!). It’s been really interesting to write with the help of an algorithm; the music that I’ve ended up with sounds very different from anything else I’ve written. I’m looking forward to the concert in September and getting to hear the other pieces in the project, as well as hearing how they’ve been informed by mathematical processes.

Leave a Reply

